Tyne and Wear HER(10489): Newcastle, Quayside, Trinity Chare - Details
Title of image: Trinity Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne
Artist: City Engineers
Description: A view of Trinity Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne taken in 1981. The photograph shows a paved yard with dilapidated buildings on two of the sides.
Additional info: Print black and white
Location/Collection: Newcastle Libraries/Newcastle Local Studies
Accession number: NCL 042033
Provider: Newcastle City Library
Copyright: All rights reserved, if you would like a printed copy of this image please contact Newcastle Libraries.
Newcastle, Quayside, Trinity Chare
The Quayside plateau has its origin in an episode of land reclamation in the 13th century. By the end of that century the arrangement of streets had been established and to a great extent that arrangement still survives. Buildings have been replaced at intervals on the same sites since the first houses of the 13th century. Presevation of 13th century buildings below ground is exceptionally good, with walls surviving to a height of some 2m. There were no minor streets or chares running off the Quayside before 1376, although the word "Key" is used four times from 1332 to 1366. From Sandhill to Sandgate there were 20 chares which survived until the mid C19. Most were so narrow that two people could not walk abreast. Their date of origin is unknown, earliest reference is C14.
C.F. O'Brien, 1990, The Quayside (Trinity Chare); H. Bourne, 1736, The History of Newcastle upon Tyne; B. Harbottle and P. Clack, 1976, Newcastle upon Tyne - Archaeology and Development in D.W. Harding (ed), 1976, Archaeology in the North; W. Collard and M. Ross, 1842, Architectural and Picturesque Views in Newcastle upon Tyne; J. and J. Leslie, 2002, Bygone Quayside and the Chares