Tyne and Wear HER(10494): Newcastle, Quayside, Palester Chare - Details
Newcastle, Quayside, Palester Chare
There were no minor streets or chares running off the Quayside before 1376, although the word "Key" is used four times from 1332 to 1366. From Sandhill to Sandgate there were 20 chares which survived until the mid C19. Most were so narrow that two people could not walk abreast. Their date of origin is unknown, earliest reference is C14. Peacock Chare is today Customs House Yard.
H. Bourne, 1736, The History of Newcastle upon Tyne; B. Harbottle and P. Clack, 1976, Newcastle upon Tyne - Archaeology and Development in D.W. Harding (ed), 1976, Archaeology in the North; W. Collard and M. Ross, 1842, Architectural and Picturesque Views in Newcastle upon Tyne; J. and J. Leslie, 2002, Bygone Quayside and the Chares