Tyne and Wear HER(12874): Elswick, Elswick Road, No. 115, Gem Cinema (Rendezvous) - Details
Elswick, Elswick Road, No. 115, Gem Cinema (Rendezvous)
The Gem Cinema was originally a private school ran by James Marchbanks. In February 1909 Joseph Dobson planned to open the large room as a billiard hall, but he was refused permission. In June 1910 plans were approved for a picture hall. The screen was mounted on the wall. In February 1911 a projection box was built. The Gem opened on 6 April 1911. The owners were the Northumberland Animated Picture Company. There were 350 seats and a very fine baby grand pianoforte. The licence changed hands twice in 1911. On 1 November 1911 George Tully Tomkins took over and changed the name to Rendezvous. It is assumed that the cinema closed in 1912. The building became known as Fitzgerald Hall. It was demolished in the early 1970s, its last use having been for the Sea Cadet Corps.
Frank Manders, 1991, Cinemas of Newcastle, page 150; Frank Manders, 2005, Cinemas of Newcastle, pages 40, 158