Tyne and Wear HER(15945): Ryton, Village East, The Lawns, stables and coach house - Details
Ryton, Village East, The Lawns, stables and coach house
Agriculture and Subsistence
Charming linear arrangement of stables (to north, facing onto Village East), a coach house, a two-storey dwelling and a single storey cottage. The interiors have been gutted. The single storey cottage (south end of complex) has a reused stone lintel over the front door inscribed on the right hand side with the initials WL and the date 1787. In the centre of the lintel is an inscribed circle with the same initials IWL and the date 1662. Inside it has one room, open to the eaves, with a fireplace. The two storey dwelling has stone lintels and cills, two windows on the ground floor to either side of the front door and one smaller central window above. The former coach house is two storeys. Round-arched cart opening at ground floor and a loading window above with fixing for a hoist. The stables are two storey (hayloft above). Drainage channels survive in the floor of the stables. Double wooden doors have been inserted. Rainwater goods and roofs have been replaced. Until 2013 these buildings were owned by Gateshead Council and used as stores, staff room and site office. Presumably these buildings were associated with the 'big house' next door (now The Lawns, HER 7639).
DDN, 16 May 2013, Design, Access and Heritage Statement; Peter Derham, Historic Buildings Officer, 2013; The Archaeological Practice Ltd. 2014, Lawn Yard Store, Ryton - Historic Building Recording