Tyne and Wear HER(6442): Newcastle, Westgate Road, Congregational Church of St. Paul - Details
Newcastle, Westgate Road, Congregational Church of St. Paul
Religious Ritual and Funerary
The former chapel was constructed between 1838 and 1844. Oliver's map of 1844 and Tallis' map of 1851 show the chapel, associated cottage and grounds. The chapel and cemetery are also shown on the 1852 tithe award (DT 165 metres) for the parish of St John, Elswick, which lists the occupiers as the "Trustees of St Paul's Chapel". On the first edition Ordnance Survey it is described as St Paul's Chapel (Independent). Baptism (1841-50) and burial records (1841-1854) are held at the Northumberland Record Office (NRO EP/73/78) under the records for St John's Elswick, a Church of England parish. Deposited building plans of 1872 describe the chapel as a Congregational Church. Around 1932 the church was sold on and converted into the Gem Cinema. The date of demolition was 1967.
Tyne and Wear Museums, 2004, Former St Paul's Chapel, Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne - Archaeological Assessment; T. Oliver, 1844, Plan of Newcastle and Gateshead; Ordnance Survey first edition 1850; Baptism and burial records 1841-54 (Northumberland Record Office EP/73/78); Thomas Oliver, 1844, Historical and Descriptive Reference to the Public Buildings on the Plan of the Borough of Newcastle upon Tyne and Gateshead; Frank Manders, 1991, Cinemas of Newcastle, pages 59-60; Alan Morgan, 2004, Beyond the Grave - Exploring Newcastle's Burial Grounds, pages 99-100; Peter F Ryder, 2012, Nonconformist Chapels and Meeting Houses in Newcastle and N Tyneside, a survey