Tyne and Wear HER(6577): Newcastle, The Side - Details
Title of image: Newcastle upon Tyne from The Side
Artist: H.T. Watson
Description: A copy of an 1834 print of the Side, Newcastle upon Tyne. The view is looking up the Side with Dean Street in the centre to the right. St. Nicholas Cathedral can be seen in the background.
Additional info: Print
Location/Collection: Newcastle Libraries/Newcastle Local Studies
Accession number: NCL 003821
Provider: Newcastle City Library
Copyright: All rights reserved, if you would like a printed copy of this image please contact Newcastle Libraries.
Newcastle, The Side
Road transport Site
In The Side there were shops for merchants, drapers and other trades. Bourne describes the street as a very great descent, narrow in width, from the Head of it to Castle Stairs, where it opens out in a spacious breadth into Sandhill. It had shops of merchants, goldsmith's, milliners, upholsters etc on either side. The east side of the street from the upper part to Allhallow Pant (HER 6529) was called Cordiner or Cordwainer Rawe. Gray reports that in the middle of The Side (presumably near Dog Leap Stairs) is an ancient stone house, an appendix to the Castle, which belonged to the Lord Lumleys (see HER 6591). According to Bourne, the tenements in The Side supported the chantries of St Catherine, SS Peter and Paul, St Cuthbert, in the church of St Nicholas. Welford describes a house once belonging to the nuns of St Bartholomew on the west side of The Side.
W. Gray, 1649, Chorographia, pp 16-17; H. Bourne, 1736, The History of Newcastle upon Tyne; Welford, 1577, History of Newcastle and Gateshead, II, pp 493-5; W. Collard and M. Ross, 1842, Architectural and Picturesque Views in Newcastle upon Tyne, opp p 35; Barbara Harbottle, 2009, The Medieval Archaeology of Newcastle in Diana Newton and AJ Pollard (eds), 2009, Newcastle and Gateshead before 1700, page 31