You are Here: Home / Bishopwearmouth Conservation Area
Bishopwearmouth Conservation Area
Designated in 1969. Extended in 1989 to take in surrounding 19th and 20th century development. It comprises fine Victorian and Edwardian buildings set within the medieval street pattern (HER 163). The former village green is now Town Park. One of the most historically important and architecturally unique environments in Sunderland. Bishopwearmouth village (HER 163) was dominated by the parish church (HER 161). By 1826 the village contained additional spacious houses built by industrialists and merchants. By the mid C19 the village became part of the urban borough of Sunderland. There were elegant terraces on Crowtree Terrace (HER 4468) and back-to-back houses on Carter Street and Crow Street. Part of the medieval thoroughfare 'Little Gate' became Church Lane. The Mowbray Almshouses (HER 4467) were built in 1863 where Church Lane joined Little Gate. Towards the end of the 19th century, Vine Place was built. In the early years of the 20th century several key Edwardian developments were added, including the Empire Theatre (HER 4474), the Dun Cow (HER 4473) and the Londonderry Public House (HER 4475).
Sunderland City Council, 2007, Bishopwearmouth Conservation Area Character Appraisal and Management Strategy; Sunderland City Council, 1998, Bishopwearmouth: a circular walk through the Conservation Area; Tyne and Wear Museums, 1996, Bishopwearmouth: An Archaeological Assessment; T. Corfe, 1973, A History of Sunderland; T. Corfe, 1983, The Buildings of Sunderland 1814-1914; G.E. Milburn and S.T Miller, 1988, Sunderland River, Town & People: A History from the 1780s to the Present Day; N. Pevsner and Elizabeth Williamson, 1983, The Buildings of England: County Durham (second edition)